SACHINCREDIBLE

November 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

It’s a historic day in the history of cricket as Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar walks into the Wankhede Stadium to play his last match ever, be it in terms of any format of the game. The symbolism of this match lies in the fact that it gives millions of the fans of Little Master, five days (if the match lasts that long) to say their goodbyes, and come to terms with the fact that they will never be able to watch him play again.

Published on 15th November, 2013

Published on 15th November, 2013

As this match ends on Monday (or maybe earlier), it won’t just be the retirement of the god of cricket, but also of thousands of his fans (maybe millions) that might never turn to cricket again. It’s the end of an era, as one of them says.

“It was because of this man that I started watching cricket,” says Garima Malhotra, a die-hard Sachin fan. “I was just eight years old when I started watching him. Even though I didn’t understand the game, I still loved to watch Sachin bat. As my father tried to explain me what was going on in the match, even at that age I somehow realised that he was the only star in the game. For me, Sachin is cricket. It was for him that I started watching the game, and I believe his retirement will be my retirement too. After all, I stopped watching ODI’s when he retired from them, and I am sure this’ll be my last test match too.”

Such is the nature of the emotional connect of his fans that it doesn’t sound surprising when people see his retirement as theirs. So much so that they want to be at the same place as their god, when they retire along with him.

Sumit Tomar, who owns an IT firm in Gurgaon, is one of those fans who will be traveling to Mumbai to watch Sachin play one last time. “I had heard some speculations that his last match will be at Lord’s and I had all the plans to go there too. Call it an emotional connection, or anything else, no matter where he would have played his last match, I just had to be there. He not only deserves the credit for what he has achieved himself, but also for where the Indian team is today. After all, the Kohli’s, Sharma’s and Raina’s are here today only because they watched Sachin as kids and wanted to be like him. For me, that credit also goes to Sachin” he shares.

He’s another of the numerous Sachin fans who never missed even a single match for last couple of decades; and also one of those who plan never to watch cricket again.

Rupesh Agarwal, owner of a bike showroom in the city, however, doesn’t feel to say goodbye yet. “For me, this is not the end as I am going to watch his highlights over and over again, and follow any of his news that is telecasted on the news channels. And as far as seeing him live is concerned, I’ll wait for him to be the coach of the Indian team. When that happens, the junoon for cricket is going to be back,” he adds.

While, many of his fans are traveling all the way to Mumbai to watch him in action one last time, those who will be watching at home are no less prepared.

Tribhuwan Joshi is one such fan who will be glued to the TV like million others. He shares, “I am going to watch his every moment – on the field and off the field. I used to pray to God for his first two overs and didn’t stop till he used to connect the ball in middle of his willow. For the last time, I will pray to God that he scores a century and for this, I will keep one red handkerchief in my pocket as Steve Waugh used to do while batting. Though I don’t believe in superstitions, but I will do it just this one time, only for Sachin.”

While, it’s the end of a long innings by one of India’s biggest icons, the future of Indian cricket looks bright with the young crop of players living upto expectations. But when it comes to hardcore Sachin fans, nobody can replace him, not even India’s success in the game.

“When my friends tell me that Virat Kohli will fill his shoes and break all his records, I feel so angry and hurt. In fact I pray for him to get out early so he doesn’t score much. I don’t want anyone to come even close to my Sachin,” concludes Garima.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading SACHINCREDIBLE at The Complete Story.

meta